Return to Curriculum

EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is followed at Heath Lane Nursery School.

The care and education of children in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) follow statutory requirements and guidance given by Government.

The Early Years Foundation Stage

This is the statutory framework for all children aged between 0 and 5 years. The Early Years curriculum is organised into 7 areas of learning. For each area of learning there is a set of developmental stages and early learning outcomes which describe what each child is expected to be learning at that stage.

Teachers and Early Years Practitioners plan the curriculum to ensure the children make good progress towards the early learning goals which children are expected to reach by the end of the Reception class in their primary school. At Heath Lane Nursery School we support all children to make the best possible progress by ensuring that learning opportunities are rich and exciting and engage all children.

There are 7 areas of learning:

3 Prime areas of learning

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

4 Specific areas of learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design


More information about the EYFS can be found on: